NAS: Preparing the Way

Happy Advent! How do you prepare you heart, home, etc. for the coming of the Lord? Are there specific recipes or traditions you partake in? Share with us how you are making way for our newborn King!

 

It’s my first-link-up with the lovely Not Alone Series, so hopefully this works. 🙂 Even though this will be a short entry, I’ll try my best to coherently express what I’ll be doing this Advent. Papers and a final are awaiting my attention! Next Thursday I’ll do the happy dance of celebration! The first full semester of grad school will be history! Oh wait, we’re talking about advent… See how my brain works? 🙂

Advent, a time of expectation, waiting and joy! Over the past few years I’ve found this liturgical season to be one of my favorite times to enrich my faith and prepare my heart for Jesus (yes, every day is a good time to focus on growth), however Advent leads to such happiness and joy! It leads to the birth of Christ! I don’t remember which show I was listening to on the Catholic Channel on Sirius radio, but someone described Advent as a “Little Lent.” We wait, prepare and keep watch. This might be an odd comparison, but Advent reminds me so much of pregnancy. You take daily prenatal vitamins, eat healthy foods, take care of your body in order to await the joyous time for your baby blessing to be born.

This Advent I’m

reading Rediscovering Advent by Matthew Kelly

journaling

and

praying the St. Andrew Novena.

What makes this year even more special is I’m able to share with K more about the faith by doing the Advent calendar. Yes, who doesn’t love a little Jesus and chocolate in their life every day? She’s old enough now she can pick out words or spell to me what she sees which is awesome. 🙂 What are you doing this Advent to enrich your faith?

I pray you have a fulfilling blessed Advent.

Until next time

2 thoughts on “NAS: Preparing the Way

  1. Welcome to the NAS!

    I read RediscoverING Catholicism back in grad school (the first edition). My favorite part was the 7 habits section toward the end. Does he have Advent habits, too?

    Like

Leave a Reply

