The typicals on my daily routine and a bit about decision-making

Good evening readers,

I hope on this snowy East coast day you are doing well. How was your New Year and Christmas? This entry is going to be a conglomeration of two different threads. I’m linking up with the lovely NAS ladies and will be talking about my typical routine. 🙂

– What is your favorite part of your day?

I love quiet mornings with a cup of coffee and P&W on Pandora while I peruse the Internet or catch up on last minute school reading/assignments. I try to catch up on school e-mails, a bit of Tweedy bird time and hopefully less time on Facebook this year. Another favorite part of my day is lunch. Not only is it a wonderful time to feed my face, it’s also a time to chat with funny colleagues who always know how to give me a chuckle. Since I have to listen to quiet music or a talking book in order to fall asleep, I enjoy bedtime. It’s a time to decompress and reflect on the day. – What is your least favorite part of your day?

I never like waiting for the bus in the cold! Whether it’s going from the internship to night classes, or going home after a full day’s work, waiting around for spotty paratransit can be frustrating. – Are you making any changes to your daily routine now that the new year has begun?

I’m hoping to get back to blogging since the chaos of life is starting to settle down. Well, once classes begin again things will really get moving. I’m hoping to get up a bit earlier than usual, maybe around 5:30ish so I can spend quiet time in prayer before I start the daytime routine of shower, Java, feastage and seeing K off to her fine institution of learning. I’m also putting on the to-do list attending at least one Theology on Tap event every few months. Even though I absolutely love spending my evenings at home with K, I’d like to get out and meet fellow young Catholics.

 

Now on to the second thread. I could use some extra prayers. I’m not going to go into the specifics, but I’m having to make a difficult decision. Rather than focus on how I feel about the choice I must make, I’m going to ramble about how I choose to process life events.

When I’m facing a difficult decision I tend to fall into the worry wart camp. I think of the pros and cons, the outcomes, who will be impacted, how I’ll be affected, along with a myriad of other thoughts which are clamoring for my attention. From here on out I’m actively choosing to trust in God. I admit this is not always easy, however it’s the one sure plan that won’t disappoint. I mean, I do believe it’s a bit more risky since God’s plans and ways are so much higher than our ways, but I have to trust and believe he has a plan better than I can imagine after I make my final decision. No matter which road I take, I’ll learn and grow from this experience. We can either view our life decisions as torrential situations that will only bring doom and gloom or teachable moments that will help us gain life lessons we can transfer and share with others. Finally as part of this thought train, I’ll conclude with some wonderful advice a colleague sent me through Facebook.

“A clinical psychologist walked around a room teaching stress and anxiety management. She raised a glass of water and her audience expected to be asked whether the glass was half full or half empty. Instead, she asked how much the glass of water weighed. Responses ranged from 8 ounces to 20 ounces. The psychologist responded – the absolute weight of the glass of water doesn’t matter. What matters is how long you hold it. If you only hold it for a minute, it’s not a problem. If you hold it for an hour, your arm will begin to ache. If you hold it all day your arm will become numb and might even feel paralyzed. In each case, the weight of the glass of water didn’t change, but the amount of time the glass was held did. Stress and worries in life are like holding the glass of water. Think about them for a little bit, nothing happens. Think about them for a little longer than that and they begin to hurt you. Think about them all day and you feel paralyzed and incapable of doing anything. Remember to put the glass down.”

Until next time,

Anjelina

3 thoughts on “The typicals on my daily routine and a bit about decision-making

  1. Oh, I struggle like you with big decisions. In the past I’ve made ultimatums with God – like “do a or b”, but in the past few years, I first choose the option I like best and then ask God to keep opening the doors if that is His will. If it’s not, please slam the doors shut. This doesn’t prevent me from looking back and saying “should I have done this” but when I do think I’ve made the wrong decision, a friend always reminds me that I’m where the Lord wants me because He continued to open the doors for this, and I was faithful and followed. Many prayers for the decision making process and courage and peace to follow through afterward.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Big life decisions are so hard. I tend to be a worrier as well. Padre Pio said, “Pray, hope, and don’t worry.” Prayer will get you through. Sending some prayers your way during my Rosary later tonight!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

