Brief thoughts and experience with Catholicmatch

Good soon-to-be spring day to you!

This song reminds me of the beauty of spring:

Finally the birds have been chirping, the sun has been shining, and the temps are starting to warm up! Despite the snow storm we had last week, I’m not giving up on the hope that spring is around the corner. Ok, so I’m not going to ramble about the weather, however, I am going to talk about my experience with

www.catholicmatch.com

Thanks Natalie at

Hereiam138.blogspot.com

For providing me the encouragement to write about my experience with the site. I’d like to hear about others experiences with CM as well.

After my last dating relationship ended, I decided to go out on a limb and give meeting people online a try. I like the premise behind CM and similar sites, but so far it doesn’t appear to work for me. It’s been nearly 2 plus years with very few substantive messages. I’ve contemplated reasons why guys don’t reply to my messages when I see they’ve looked at my full profile or when I try to reach out to other members I hear nothing in return and have come up with a few possibilities. I only have a few pictures on my profile which may contribute to the lack of communication and I am open about being blind. I try to mention it in a positive way—I think I say something about using a white cane and wanting to work as a social worker to change misperceptions about blindness. Maybe I’m not vague enough, or I should leave some mystery about my goals and dreams. I want to be honest with people, but I wonder if this makes them uncomfortable?

At times I feel frustrated because this mode of communication isn’t working out for me, but I’m also trying to remind myself that if I’m meant to meet that special guy, God will put him in my life when the time is right, however, I want to be proactive as well. I also don’t want to fall into the trap of meeting people with the intent of husbanding them without first forming a friendship. My goals for a future spouse is to become friends before we even entertain the idea of dating. Do you think that’s unrealistic nowadays? Well, I take that question back. I’m not going to worry about what others or the world things is acceptable for a relationship. It’s a standard I want to adhere too.

I know for certain I need to attend more young adult events like Theology on Tap, but with my class schedule the two are at the same time. Silly grad school and its demands!

If you are dating or in a relationship, how did you meet your significant other? Have you ever tried online dating? What were your experiences?

Do you have any suggestions for those of us who are having a difficult time with CM?

Thanks for reading. Until next time,

Anjelina

Leave a Reply

