Lessons learned through Mass and experiences

As usual, I’m a few days late to the blog world. I’d love to participate in the NAS link-up, however, I don’t feel I have a substantive reply, so I will be sure to keep an eye on all your posts about books, articles, podcasts and other goodies you are taking in. smile

Here’s a bit about what God has put in my mind and on my heart through recent experiences and a wonderful Fr. at Mass.

First of all, I’ll tell you about my recent experience and realization. Sunday was the unofficial graduation from Temple University with my Masters in social work. I say unofficial since I won’t be finished with course work until July 30. Prior to the ceremony I pondered how I would walk across the stage. Would I go solo or take an arm to walk? If I took an arm what would people think of me? Would they see me as dependent or competent as a person who is blind? Despite my nerves and trepidation I finally came to a decision I was comfortable with despite varying opinions I received. Kari, the admissions coordinator who has walked with all of us grads through the application, admission and acceptance process, assisted me across the stage. I could come up with millions, well maybe five or ten, justifications as to why I made this decision, but something I’m beginning to accept and wholeheartedly believe is when it comes to blindness I can’t represent all people who are blind or all people who struggle with hearing issues. All I can do is represent myself and the unique person I am. I felt privileged to have Kari’s help; she’s been an integral part of my MSW journey. I challenge you today to represent you and the beautiful creation you are. God made us all so different; wouldn’t the world be so boring if we were all the same?

As a wise Catholic friend once told me “there is no sin in taking an arm.” While I may not meet the other standards of the next person who is blind, all that matters is that I am meeting my goals, aspirations and living a life that is pleasing to my final judge, God almighty. I’ll put it out there that there are differing thoughts or philosophies of blindness, and if one chooses to implore a particular technique this does not make him or her “a bad blind person.”

I have ideas of how I wish all sighted saw blindness, and through my actions my goals are to model these ideals, however there are situations in which I can’t get so caught up in what the sighted or blind think of me. Living a life with purpose, integrity and passion is what matters most.

 

Now onto the lesson learned from Mass. I’m telling you the next part of the story for context. I try to frequent the sacrament of reconciliation, however I’ve fallen off track lately. Well, last weekend Fr. H was a tough cookie. He challenged me and at times made me a bit anxious, but I am thankful for being pushed out of my comfort zone. This is what I find some unique and beautiful about the Catholic Church. So many say, “We can confess our sins to God and they are forgiven.” While this is true, being able to voice your sins, telling a priest your faults and having your sins absolved is truly life changing. So, this weekend Fr. H was the celebrant. His homilies are usually short, to-the-point and quite direct. He talked about the readings emphasizing there being a conflict between good and evil, and in evil sometimes there are casualties. When we pray “deliver us from evil”, we must mean it with our whole hearts. In order to fight against the evils of this world we most go back to the basics. We were reminded of the basics which are staying in communion with God, attending Mass because this is where we receive Him, and regularly attending the sacrament of confession to receive Christ’s grace.

Even though that was all he had to say in a few words, it was quite powerful. His reminders were what I needed to hear. I’m sure I said a similar thing last week. Mass is a place to get away from the world and spend a small little hour with God, the one who knows us better than we know ourselves.

Until next time,

Anjelina

Leave a Reply

