Windows 10, guide dogs

%MCEPASTEBIN%

 

 

Hi blog readers,

I hope that you are doing well. It has been some time since I last wrote. Hopefully now that I’m done with grad school I will have some more future entries. I thought this short entry could be dedicated to the randomness that is my life.

Today I took the leap over the huge chasm and updated to Windows 10 from 8.1. For my fellow blind and visually impaired friends, I assure you it’ll be okay. Your computer will still run quite well with your screen reader of choice. For part of the update process I had to invoke Narrator, but JAWS came back as soon as the final restart took place. I’m already really liking Cortana; she’s sort of like a refined Siri. If you’ve upgraded what are your thoughts/reactions?

 

In other news, I’ve been searching for employment. I still have yet to get all the paperwork in order to take the LSW exam, but I am hoping to test in September. If you wouldn’t mind, please keep me in your prayers on Thursday. I have an interview with the local SSA office. Although the position isn’t directly related to social work, I will be able to use many transferable skills. Thank you in advance for your thoughts and prayers. Smile

This may be a surprise to some, but I have started the application process to The Seeing Eye for a dog guide. I am not sure if I will be approved—the worse they can tell me is no—so once my references are in I will hopefully have a home visit. I feel quite confident with my cane skills and want to maintain then if I am approved to a dog, however, there are components of using a dog that I would enjoy. I will keep you posted on the process.

Other than attempting to catch up on my long list of books to read, I’m thoroughly enjoying the freedom of papers, evening classes and lectures, however, I do miss my social work friends. Hopefully we will get together in the near future to catch up.

Well, that’s about it for now. Hope to write soon.

Until next time,

Anjelina

Leave a Reply

