NAS: The Five Love Languages

Dr. Gary Chapman has outlined five ways people give and receive love in his book “The 5 Love Languages.” Take the quiz at to discover yours! What is your love language? How does that affect your approach to romantic relationships, family relationships, and friendships? How do you give and receive love with people who have different love languages?

Hello reader,

After a summer break, I am so happy to once again be linking up with the Not Alone Series. Today we are going to talk about love languages, but first I encourage you to check out our new hosts, Rachel and Lindsay’s fabulous blogs.



So, onto todays prompt. I’ve been wanting to read Dr. Chapman’s Love Languages for Singles edition for over a year, but it is still on my to-read list. Smile

Since we all have differing love languages, I found this short quiz insightful and helpful. Here are my results:

10 Words of Affirmation
6 Acts of Service
6 Quality Time
4 Physical Touch
4 Receiving Gifts

I’ve always known words are quite meaningful for me, however, I didn’t realize the needs for words of affirmation translated into my top love language. When I look at this list it fits my personality. For me, it’s not so much that someone needs to do something or give me something, but what matters to me most of all are the words they use to affirm their love or feelings. Although I seek affirmation from others probably at bit too much, knowing others love languages can help push me out of my comfort zone and learn other ways of expressing love such as giving gifts, doing acts of service or reciprocating my own top language. I have noticed in my friendships I try to show friends my gratitude by doing for them. Although it’s my main love language, I seem to constantly be working on expressing in words to my feelings for my friends and family. When reflecting on love languages, this quote comes to mind:

“The beginning of love is to let those we love be perfectly themselves, and not to twist them to fit our own image. Otherwise we love only the reflection of ourselves we find in them.” Thomas Merton

Until next time,



2 thoughts on “NAS: The Five Love Languages

  1. I completely understand your struggle between speaking your love language to others and hearing it being spoken to you. I was sitting with a friend who was taking the quiz once, and I had to keep reminding her to focus on how *she* feels loved, not how she *shows* love to other people. Some people give love in one way and receive love in a completely different way!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s