Pope post and a bit of a ramble

As I excitedly sit here listening to the canonization Mass for Blessed Junipero Serra, I thought I would put my Pope posts somewhere other than Facebook. I am just so excited about our Holy Father being here in America! I hope I have not gone overboard on social media, however, it is difficult to contain my happiness and joy. This post will be a bit over the place, so hang on.

When papa Francis spoke in English this morning, I just got chills! He wants to reach people no matter their beliefs or unbelief. I can relate to his sentiments because I truly love my friends of all faiths. Some of my best friends who have been most inflencial in my life are Atheists who have taught me what it is to be an authentic person. I have heard so many different takes on the Pope’s speeches thus far from both political sides, and what I have noticed is he continues to uphold the wise Churches teachings along with the love of Christ at the forefront of his messages. I have heard some say when he met with the President he did not mentioned abortion or marriage issues, but my take on that is he is going to win more people over by agreeing on commonalities first.

As I have said before on this blog I want to share with anyone who is willing to listen my faith, however, what I never want to do is jam religion down anyone’s throat. I remember how I felt when family and friends would bring up religion when I identified as an Atheist. I felt angry and as if, my thoughts were not respected. I needed to return to the faith in God’s time, not when humans thought I should. My goal in life is to be a kind, caring, faithful person who happens to be a Catholic to my family, friends and anyone I meet. Therefore, this is why I decided to write on the blog rather than Pope post everyone to death. smile

Due to a specific incident, I have been learning the humbling lesson of what Saint Francis said: “Preach the gospel, and if necessary, use words.” Our actions speak louder than words. I could be the most Bible versed and catechized Christian with a heart of stone. What good would that be?

Our Holy Father is also teaching me it is more important to live the light of Christ rather than try to convert souls with doctrine. While the wisdom and beauty of the Catholic Church is so attractive to me, I have been reminded that all things are possible with God, which means I need to get out of His way and allow the Holy Spirit to work.

Praise God from whom all blessings flow!

I look forward to next week’s link-up and hopefully a post for you about my experience in nearby Philadelphia at the Papal Mass this Sunday.

Please pray for all who are attending and know you will be in my prayers as well.

Until next time,

Anjelina

Leave a Reply

