NAS: Encouraging friends

How do you give encouragement to other singles (or couples) who are struggling in their journey?

Good Tuesday reader,

I most definitely will enjoy reading all the other link-ups, since I am always looking for ways to encourage my single or married friends, and tips for those days being singleis a struggle. I hope these suggestions can transcend vocation lines.

Here are a few reminders I try to share in order to encourage my single and married friends. Let’s always remember being single is not a reflection of who we are and in this opportunity, we can better understand who we are before involving someone else.

Just as marriage is also a wonderful opportunity to learn and grow as an individual and a couple into the people God calls us to be. No matter where we are in life, it’s all about the journey. 🙂

Settling is not an option: the right man is worth the wait. “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:11-31

Just as being married has its blessings, singlehood has its perks as well. Being single with no children opens life up to traveling, challenges and lots of fun.

Let’s not be ashamed to talk about how we feel. In all areas of life, no matter your vocation, it’s good and helpful to discuss the ups and downs of being single or married. As a social worker, we are always told to lean into the discussion, feel what the person is feeling. Be honest with your friends who will provide a truthful reality check if needed. I had this very experience this weekend with a dear friend who gently encouraged me to come back to earth and live in the moment rather than the past.

Offer to pray for and with your single friends for their future spouse or vocation. Married couples need prayer as well. As one who often prays for my future husband, since I feel called to marriage, I pray for his heart, soul and mind. What matters most to me is praying I do God’s will in all things.

Since I totally understand the feeling of being alone, I try to send my single ladies near and far and gents a text or some sort of shout-out saying I’m thinking of you. In those moments when being single can seem so hopeless, it’s always a pick-me-up to hear from a friend who cares. It’s also wonderful to meet up with others singles to go out for dinner and a good chat. Last week I had this very experience which rejuvenated my interest to reach out to my friends rather than staying in my loner bubble. 🙂

Ready. set, go: How do you encourage your single or married friends?

Remember to check out our hosts

Lindsay

and

Rachel

Until next time,

Anjelina

2 thoughts on “NAS: Encouraging friends

  1. “Settling is not an option.” I need to hear that more often! I was just reading a post at Wait But Why a few days ago about how it’s better to marry the right person later in life than the wrong person when it’s the “right time” to get married.

    I pray Evening Prayer from the Liturgy of the Hours almost every Monday (connected to another event), and one of the Mondays has married couples as one of the general intercessions. I try to take that time to pray for newlyweds I know, engaged couples, and couples whose weddings I’ve attended. I hope they pray for me, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

