NAS: Single Scriptures

What is your relationship with Scripture? Do you read the Bible every day? What is your favorite translation or edition? Do you use Scripture for prayer (a.k.a. lectio divina)? Do you play Bible roulette (flip to a random verse)? What are some Scripture verses that speak to you as a single woman?

It is a lovely warm Tuesday in November, and I have so many things to be thankful for! First of all, this prompt has reminded me how much of a slacker I am when it comes to reading the Bible. Confession time: since I’m not a Bible reader, I originally thought I had nothing to contribute, but then I thought about how some of my go-to’s have helped me in this journey of singlehood. Even though I have many favorite verses which I’ll share in a bit, I know getting into the word and letting the Holy Spirit speak to me is something I should do more often whether it’s listening to an audio Bible or reading a page-turner (the Braille Bible I have takes up like 40 something volumes).

I’ve heard of lectio divina and have a Kindle book which discusses how to use scripture with prayer, but alas, it is on my pile to be read.

As a single woman, I often need reminders of why I am on this journey and what I can come up with so far is God is teaching me patience and dependence on Him alone.

“For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken.

On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God.”

Psalms 62:5-7

John 16:33 is perfect for those days when the faith journey seems fruitless

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

One of my favorites from Corinthians which reminds me why I am waiting for love and what it looks like:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

– 1 Cor 13:4-13

1 Peter 5:7 is great for those days I feel being single is its own kind of spiritual suffering, but God truly cares about our wellbeing and maybe someday He will give me the desire of my heart.

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you

I just realized how I could ramble on and on about Bible verses and being single, but now it’s your turn to share your thoughts on this prompt.

After you do that, leave some bloggy love for our hosts

Lindsay

and

Rachel

Until next time,

Anjelina

One thought on “NAS: Single Scriptures

  1. Mmm. “Take heart! I have overcome the world.” I’m doing a study on Revelation (the book, not the concept) right now, and it’s a great reminder that the battle has already been won. We’ve all skipped to the end and we know that Christ conquers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

