LSW exam and Our Worth

Good day readers,

After taking a few days to reflect on passing my LSW exam, I’ve been pondering the concept of trusting in God’s plan for our lives. I also want to write a bit about our worth as humans. First of all, thank you for your positive thoughts and prayers; although the exam was the most anxiety-producing test I have thus far taken, I am blessed it is over and done with. Prior to my exam, I tried to prepare myself for the worst and the best. I did not go into the testing room with the confidence I would pass and prayed I wouldn’t completely fail. No matter how the results panned out, I knew I had to trust God’s got this. Even if I wouldn’t pass I knew I would regroup and try again. Or I also considered the possibility that maybe passing may not be in God’s plan for my future. For me, this seems to be how life works out. When one door opens or closes, I have to trust God has a divine plan that is better than I could imagine. Even though I am a licensed social worker, I am still on the diligent hunt for a job. I pray this aspect of life will fall into place when it is meant too.

Thanks again for your prayers!!

Now onto our worth. Today I attended a holiday party at the agency I contract with Brailling business cards. As I was waiting in the line for food, I overheard many comments surrounding weight gain, getting fat, it’s the season for Weight Watchers and gym memberships. The commentary went on—I’m sure you got the picture. Even though as someone who is in recovery for an eating disorder, these comments can be triggering. However, I don’t expect everyone to know this or even care. What I want to emphasize to myself and you are that our worth is not in our appearance, the number on the scale, what society says is the vogue trend or in the size we wear. Sadly, in our appearance-obsessed society, it is all too often easy to lose sight of the big picture. We forget to see people for who they are, mind body and soul. In closing, re-reading this little thought-provoker helps me remember that we have worth and are loved by the author of our lives. A loving God and Father.

 

“A well-known speaker started off his seminar by holding up a $20 bill. “Who would like this $20 bill?” he asked. Hands started going up. He said, “I am going to give this $20 bill to one of you, but first, let me do this.” He proceeded to crumple the money up. He then asked, “Who still wants it?” Still the hands went up. “Well,” he replied, “what if I do this?” and he dropped it on the ground and started to grind it into the floor. He picked it up, now all crumpled and dirty. “Now who still wants it?” Still the hands went up. “My friends, you have all learned a valuable lesson. No matter what I did to the money, you still wanted it because it did not decrease in value. Many times in our lives, we are dropped, crumpled and ground into the dirt by decisions we make and the circumstances that come our way. We feel worthless. But no matter what has happened, you will never lose your value. Dirty or clean, crumpled or finely creased, you are still priceless.” -Cliff Anchor

You are enough.

Until next time,

Anjelina

Leave a Reply

