A book Review: How to Find Your Soulmate Without Losing Your Soul

How to Find Your Soulmate Without Losing Your Soul

By

Jason and Crystalina Evert

Good day,

This was my first time reading a book by the Everts’. I was falsely under the impression their books were more geared for teens. This book was at times a challenging read, but it was also full of pithy humor. Here is the intro to the book, then I’ll share my reaction.

In your quest for love, don’t lose yourself along the way.

While navigating through the dating scene, every woman begins to wonder:

 

  • How do I know when a guy really loves me?
  • Am I being too picky?
  • Do I even deserve love?

 

  • Is my relationship worth keeping?
  • Is love worth the risk?
  • Are any decent guys left?

 

Single women often feel left alone to find answers to their deep questions about love and intimacy. Some hang out and hook up, hoping for love. Others are afraid even to hope. At some point, every woman needs reassurance that she—and her standards—are not the problem. In How to Find Your Soulmate without Losing Your Soul, you’ll discover twenty-one strategies to help you raise the bar, instead of sitting at it, waiting around for Mr. Wonderful.

Isn’t it time that you discovered a love that helps you to become yourself?

 

The main reason I began reading this book was because I received it from a beautiful blogger who had a contest for both single and married readers. I was the lucky recipient for various books for single ladies, and this book was one of the gems I received.

As someone who has not had the perfect past when it comes to dating (I once left an an abusive relationship and I’m a single Mom), I had my reservations about this book. At first I thought I sure am not the good Catholic girl they are targeting, but as I read I began to lower my defenses and open my eyes and heart to their wisdom.

For me this was an emotional read; it took many stops and starts to finish. As Jason and Crystalina walked me through the different personality types of guys to avoid such as the “The Control Freak,” “The Smooth Criminal,” and “The Fixer-Upper/Problem Child”, I had to relive the painful past decisions I’ve made or the unseen traps I’ve fell into. While this wasn’t easy, it was very cathartic.

This book has reinforced that it’s okay to have standards and we should never lower them to accommodate a man who is not willing to respect your mind, body or soul.

Each chapter skillfully builds upon the previous chapter with the purpose of removing all the false “go get it” pretenses approach of our society.

I recommend this book for all women, no matter your state in life. It will renew and refocus your love on what and whom should always matter most in our lives.

“A woman with the courage to step out into the unknown, risking temporary loneliness for a shot at lasting joy, is more than a “single.” She’s singular. Instead of defining herself by what she lacks–a relationship with a man–she defines herself by what she has: a relationship with God.” (Dawn Eden)

Until next time,

Anjelina

Leave a Reply

