Even Unto Death reflection

Today I struggled to start the day and got lost in my torrent thoughts and realizations. Although I knew the sun was shining and temps were a bit warmer, I wanted to stay in bed and sleep the day away. Often when I feel this deep sense of isolation, I try to find some genre of music that either matches my mood or puts me in a better frame of mind. It was an Audrey Assad kind of day. Her lyrics are so powerful and her voice is so beautifully soothing. When this song, which I’ve heard countless times, popped up on Pandora, it not only gave me motivation to write this entry, it also put my mood into perspective.

Here are the thoughts brought to you by the below lyrics. Similar to Audrey’s faith journey, I grew up fearing God and hell but over time have come to intellectualize and believe with my heart that Jesus calls us to unity and is the lover of my soul. Just as an iron rod is transformed and takes on the properties of fire, so is our human nature changed by the Holy Spirit.

I know this will sound quite morbid to some; every day we are alive we come one step closer to death. Over the past few months my heart has been dancing to its own erratic beats which has made me take pause to ponder more about life, dying and death. I’m not at all saying I’m going to or ready to cash in my chips yet, but I realize if I don’t work to take care of the one body I’ve been given, then death is a real possibility.

I write these realizations all this to say the below lyrics and health scares encouraged me to think about life, death and what really matters when we look at our life portraits.

At times I briefly feel distant from family and friends because I have this longing desire to be freed from this world and its pain. As I walked by the TV which was tuned to a national news channel, it occurred to me with this overwhelmingly crushing wave of emotional intensity that there is so much violence, heartache and the fingerprints of sin are noticeable on all we see in most media. The ravages of war, political derisiveness and death dominate the airwaves. While we could only focus on these aspects of our fallen world, I am so thankful for the freedom Jesus has given us by His sacrifice. I am so thankful for artists who have been given the gift of music and lyrics.

Even Unto Death reminds me of the unconditional love of Jesus. No matter through the sadness we see and experience in this earthly life, as Christians we have such a beautiful story to tell and share with others. Whether it’s trying to synthesize the wisdom and treasures of the Catholic Church, or explain the awesome gift of salvation, for me Jesus is the centerpiece.

Even though this world at times may feel like a desolate place mentally and spiritually, this song reinforces we are never forsaken. Although our life will someday end, we will never be alone.

Actively living out the Christian faith is far from popular and most definitely not easy; for me it’s a daily struggle to live out what we are called to do rather than give into what our society of changing tides says how we should live. Audrey emphasizes that in humiliation and in darkness we are never abandoned. Though this journey may not be easy, the beauty of seeing Jesus in His glory in heaven is worth every tough decision. I am so thankful for Catholic artists such as Assad who sing about the real trials and tribulations of following Christ. Though I may not have all the answers or always possess the understanding my heart longs for, let’s do our best to live out the message of these lyrics.

 

Jesus

The very thought of You

It fills my heart with love

Jesus

You burn like wildfire

And I am overcome

 

Lover of my soul

Even unto death

With my every breath I will love You

Lover of my soul

Even unto death

With my every breath I will love You

 

Jesus

You are my only hope

And You, my prize shall be

Jesus

You are my glory now

And in eternity

 

Lover of my soul

Even unto death

With my every breath I will love You

Yeah, Lover of my soul

Even unto death

With my every breath I will love You

 

In my darkest hour

In humiliation

I will wait for You

I am not forsaken

Oh, I lose my life

Oh, my breath be taken

I will wait for You

I am not forsaken

One thing I desire

To see You in Your beauty

 

You are my delight

Yeah, You are my only

You have sacrificed

Oh, Your love is all consuming

You are my delight

Yeah, You are my glory

Oh, You are my glory

Oh, You are my glory

 

You’re the lover of my soul

Even unto death

With my every breath I will love You

You’re the lover of my soul

Even unto death

With my every breath I will love You

 

I will love You

Even unto death, I will love You

With my every breath I will love You

Jesus

The very thought of You

Jesus

The very thought of You

 

Until next time,

Anjelina

Leave a Reply

