Answering the questions of life

“I beg you…to have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language. Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is, to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer…” Rainer Maria

 

Can you believe another week is done and we are about to see the end of January? I also can’t fathom that Lent is nearly here. I still have to decide what addition or subtraction in life I plan to make. I’d like to find a good spiritually reflective book to read. If you have any suggestions, I’m all hears. What are your Lenten plans?

Maybe someone out there can relate; I came across this quote which is quite applicable to my current state in life. I like this quote because it mentions books, which can possess their own wise lessons. Whether it’s relative to being single, my health or the ongoing employment search, I’m learning valuable lessons. I am learning there is worth in the waiting, growth in the silence and if I allow God to work in my life I will eventually end up where I am meant to be. I am not saying we should just sit idly around and do nothing to help ourselves, however, at times we have to let go of our specific timetables and plans for a greater good to occur.

Last evening I was texting with a dear friend who happens to be the coolest Catholic on the Notre Dame law school campus, and she gave me so wise advice I’d like to pass along in the hopes it may help someone in blog land.

When life has us in a holding pattern, prayer always should be our first go to. Even though God says, ask and it shall be given to you, we may not get the answer we want. While he may give us a “yes”, “no”, or “not now”, keeping the lines of communication open to hear his voice helps me get out of my own head.

I have found the sufferings in life can at times be part of God’s plan to bring us closer to Him and detach us from the temporal facets of the world. He is able to bring blessings out of the bad experiences of life. However, this surely is not easy for me to always accept. I can be impatient in my prayers and with my wants, but what I often have to remind myself is God will provide me with what I need which is vastly different from what I want.

“All things work together for good, for those who love God and are called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

I recall a valuable lesson I learned at a spiritual retreat through a simple activity. While everyone wrote the burdens they wanted to give to Jesus, I Brailed out mine on an index card. We then attached our pieces of paper to a cross. It’s powerful to realize uniting our sufferings with the cross has a redemptive quality and can work to make us more Christ-like. I pray we can always be flexible and open to allowing god to mold us in the ways he sees fit despite our human stubborn tendencies.

Until next time,

Anjelina

 

Leave a Reply

