NAS: Virtues

Virtue is a habit of choosing good over evil. How do you cultivate virtue in your life as a single? How do you grow in faith, hope, and love? How do you promote justice, prudence, temperance, and fortitude? How do you spread kindness and champion chastity? On a practical level, what are some good habits you’ve developed for your single life? And on the flip side, what bad habits and vices have you overcome? (It’s okay if you’re still working on some of them!)

 

Happy Tuesday,

Since I often need definitions to get my mind rolling, I decided to look up virtue in the Catholic catechism. “A virtue is a habitual and firm disposition to do the good.” This prompt, developing virtues as a single, is one I’m regularly working on. First of all, promoting faith, hope and love in my life seem to be twofold; I attempt to live virtue out in my life through my words and actions as well as cultivate it in my heart.

Typically, when things are going well, I do an okay job at living out the virtues; however, it gets tricky when life is rough and times are tough that my consistency weans. I believe growing in virtues not only makes us stronger, it also brings us closer to Christ. In the catechisms definition, to me the words which stuck out is habitual. Developing virtue is continually a process that we have to stick with despite our human shortcomings.

The questions I often need to ask myself are do I display virtue when life is not going well or according to my plans?

I don’t mean this to sound cheesy, but when I am not loving, hopeful or the most faithful to God, I have to pray for His strength because I know with my flawed, sinner self I can’t do it on my own. As I continued to read the catechisms definitions of each virtue, it became quite apparent to me that these standards are high, but I believe they are not unattainable.

When examining my vices or behaviors caused by sin, I’m selfish, impatient, wasteful with my time, destructive to my body, insecure, unkind to family and so many other negative characteristics. Writing this isn’t easy, because well, it sure isn’t the person I want to be at all. I want to be a more virtuous mother, daughter, sister and person.

Though in our human nature we will always struggle with the inclination to sin, I believe practice makes better. This Lent I want to work toward becoming a better more virtuous person.

“The removal of the ingrained disposition to sin . . . requires much effort and self-denial, until the contrary virtue is acquired.” Taken from the catechism

Whether it’s continuing to promote chastity and virtue through my actions and words,

It’s a process. It’s like working out; I may not want to do it somedays but in the end it will be worth it.

“To live well is nothing other than to love God with all one’s heart, with all one’s soul and with all one’s efforts; from this it comes about that love is kept whole and uncorrupted (through temperance). No misfortune can disturb it (and this is fortitude). It obeys only [God] (and this is justice), and is careful in discerning things, so as not to be surprised by deceit or trickery (and this is prudence).”

Whether single or married, being persistent, trusting in God’s grace and love, along with frequenting the Sacraments are what I have to rely on in order to become a more virtuous person.

I look forward to reading your tips. Have a blessed Lent

Until next time,

Anjelina

3 thoughts on “NAS: Virtues

  1. You have many good virtues and one is writing these blogs expressing how your faith. Your words touch the minds and hearts of so many with such love and care. Your positive attitude and dedication to your faith have been a virtue for me to learn from to grow closer to God like you. Thank you for educating me about virtues through the catechism. Your friendship is a blessing to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, yes, it is hard to live virtuously when life is not going according to plan! Building up the habit of doing good things instead of bad things is so hard. Persisting in doing evil is definitely not the right way, though. Your insights this week are profound!

    Like

Leave a Reply

