NAS: reading

We all enjoy new reading material and this year a reading goal just may be on your list of goals.  What book genre(s)do you like the most?  Do you borrow books from your local library, purchase them for current and future reading, or do you read e-books?  What are some books that you loved reading and that you would recommend? 

Hi there on this soggy Tuesday,

“What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn’t happen much, though.” J.D. Salinger

Oh my goodness!!! I absolutely love this prompt! I love all things books. Their content, texture, smell, feel, the sound of a good page-turner… I’m all about the books!

I often use

my Goodreads profile

to track what I’m reading. My shelves are a sorted mess, so the site will give you a sense of what I enjoy reading. I like reading anything from John Grisham to Clive Cussler to James Patterson to older Steven King titles. Since most bestsellers aren’t available in hard-copy or electronic Braille, I often resort to Kindle books through Amazon or iBooks. For blind or print disabled readers a paid site called

Bookshare

exists to bridge the reading gap and makes books of all kinds accessible in various formats.

A book I would currently recommend is Something Other Than God by Jennifer Fulwiler. If you listen to The Catholic Channel on Sirius 129, her name may sound familiar since she has a show on the lineup. I’m nearly done with this read, and not only is it funny, down-to-earth and insightful, it helped me understand why some people may not believe in God or anything spiritual.

If you ever want to talk about books, I am all ears and fingers. Smile

 

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.” Jane Austen

Until next time,

Anjelina

One thought on “NAS: reading

Leave a Reply

