Hollow: A book review

“I am forever engaged in a silent battle in my head over whether or not to lift the fork to my mouth, and when I talk myself into doing so, I taste only shame. I have an eating disorder.” Jena Morrow

 

Hollow: An Unpolished Tale (May be triggering due to mention of numbers).

By

Jena Morrow

 

I read this book about a year ago, and recently decided to revisit it for its message of trusting in God, in oneself as well as professionals in working toward recovery. Here are my thoughts of this emotionally-gripping, realistic, honest biography.

In all the eating disorder-related books I have dedicated my time and energy to, this isn’t a book which is devoted solely to focusing on the days of illness. Rather Jena puts her literary talent into her recovery. Now, I’m not trying to condemn other books whose focus is placed on being in the grips of the disorder; it’s important to tastefully display all the many phases and facets of eating disorders in order to educate the broader public of the seriousness of this life-sucking disease.

I appreciated that Jena proactively shares her experiences about being in treatment, because taking that first step toward being well sure is not easy. It brought me back to my times in treatment and the memories of how terribly hard I had to work to eat meals and snacks and not revert back into my old ways. Another component of Jena’s story I could relate with were her courageous attempts of trying to stay well despite the thoughts which always are in the background, ghostly lurking and waiting for you to fall back into the pit of self-destruction.

Despite the thoughts and compulsions which can at times be my nemesis, Jena reminds all readers that with the help of Christ, all things can be overcome. Although faith may not be for everyone, Jena does not deluge her readers with Bible verses and Christian ideas, however, it is central to her message toward recovery.

Although I may not be fully recovered and I may have relapses, through this book I have been reminded full recovery is always possible. If you also struggle with an eating disorder and know someone who copes with this struggle, I highly recommend Jena’s book.

Until next time

Anjelina

 

Leave a Reply

