Long-lost blogger has finally returned

Good rainy day faithful readers,

I have been away from the blog world much longer than I intended and have missed your insightful entries. Life has been a mixed bag of ups, downs and everything in between. I hope this entry finds you well and you are surviving the boiling summer heat along with its oppressive sweltering humidity.

Part of my silence from blogging partially contributes to a sense of nothingness; I am unsure what to write about and question whether my rambles are substantive. Well, rather than mulling over those minor details, I am going to write about recent realizations.

Lately I’ve felt defeated in many areas of life. I question whether I am on the right path, whatever that means, or if I am making the correct life decisions. I came across an excerpt from the Holy Father’s welcome address to the youth at World Youth Day. I am thankful for the new perspective his words have given me. Here are his nuggets of wisdom:

“Jesus can give you true passion for life. Jesus can inspire us not to settle for less, but to give the very best of ourselves. Jesus challenges us, spurs us on and helps us keep trying whenever we are tempted to give up. Jesus pushes us to keep our sights high and to dream of great things. You might say to me, “but Father, it is so difficult to dream of great things, it is so difficult to rise up, to be always moving forwards and upwards. Father, I am weak, I fall, and I try but so many times I fall down”. Mountaineers, as they climb mountains, sing a very beautiful song whose words go like this: “in the art of climbing, it is not important that you do not fall down, but that you do not stay down”. If you are weak, if you fall, look up a little for there is Jesus’ hand extended to you as he says: “Rise up, come with me”. “And what if I fall again?” Rise again. “And what if I fall yet again?” Rise yet again. Peter once asked the Lord: “Lord, how many times?” And the reply came: “seventy times seven”. The hand of Jesus is always extended, ready to lift us up again when we fall.

To be zealously and joyfully Catholic is not an idle thing. Being religious, being a lover of Jesus does not short change you of life’s great joys and happiness. To be in Kraków during these days, must truly be a foretaste of what heaven must be like with the saints. Let’s continue to keep our eyes on Jesus, to follow him — he is our treasure and he helps us when we fall to keep following him … all the way to eternity.”

 

All I can say is, wow! Way to go for shifting my negative attitude into focusing what truly matters most. I am not going to go into the particulars, but what I can say is life is forcing me to learn the foundational truth that nothing in this world can and wil ever bring us true happiness. Although happiness can be fleeting and at times lul one into a sense of complacency, what matters most in the grand scheme of things is the goal of heaven. I’ve noticed I tend to micro focus on the small facets of life, the day in and day out frustrations of being human.

Even though this earthly journey can sure be a meandering path, I am often reminding myself of who and what has to ultimately matter even when I mess up, fall and faulter.

Until next time,

Anjelina

2 thoughts on “Long-lost blogger has finally returned

  1. Welcome back! it certainly has been a long while! I’m glad to see the nugget of wisdom helped you in shifting your negative attitude on things 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

