Brief Reflection on National Suicide Prevention Day

“We are all a people in need.

We are not perfect. We are not machines.

We make mistakes.

We need grace. We need compassion.

We need help at times.

We need other people.

And that’s okay.” Jamie Tworkowski, If You Feel Too Much: Thoughts on Things Found and Lost and Hoped For

 

On this day of rememberance and reflection, I’m going to write a short entry about the significance of this day. I have experienced both the heartache and pain of losing a loved one to suicide and all-to-well know the dark, tormenting thoughts and feelings associated with contemplating the idea that this world is to much to emotionally handle, so since for various reasons I have been struggling, I am writing my thoughts as a reminder to myself and anyone else who can relate. Although I know and believe hope exists on the other side of sadness and loneliness, for me the following are helpful reminders.

Even though this sounds like a blanket feel-good statement, the truth still exists. Since it is often said we are connected in someway, to lose another light to suicide would make this world a dimmer place. You matter to many near and far; you are worthy; you deserve to give yourself another chance at this prescious gift of life and finally since you are reading this, it isn’t yet your time for the final curtain call on life. As this day draws to an end, please promise yourself you will give life another chance. For my fellow Harry Potter fans, even though the Death Eaters and Dementors may circle, we have the power to repel them with the truths of hope and love.

Lately

Rise Up by Andra Day

has been my go-to song to keep on keeping on, and I pray you do the same.

Until next time,

Anjelina

Leave a Reply

