2017: A Year of Saying Yes

“I am the handmaiden of the Lord; let it be to me according to your Word” (Luke 1:38).

As we celebrate the Solemnity of Mary, The Mother of God, on this octave day of Christmas, I have been drawn to reflect on the beauty and richness of the Church’s liturgical seasons. This feast day holds significance for me that I don’t think I’ve previously written about. It has been four years since I’ve been on this journey of singleness with its highs and lows. After the relationship ended, the next day which was January 1, the one hope I clung to was the rosary. It was not out of piety, rather at first it was out of self-preservation. I needed repetition because my attempt to talk with God or even pray was met with silence, tears and pain. Through this difficult time, I could not have sustained my emotional wellbeing on my own accord. Depression, rejection, despair and defeat or regular uninvited guests who validated my feelings of self-worth, however, thanks be to God and those dear souls who were in my life at the time for teaching me lifelong lessons of who I needed to place unconditional love, my hope and faith in.

I admit there are times before bed I try to pray the rosary, and Momma Mary works more like a sedative rather than a time of contemplation and prayer, but nonetheless she has been and continues to be a source of strength and model of what it means to unconditionally love, unwaveringly trust even though what God is asking may not make sense, and she exhibited abundant surrender.

Scripture says she “ponders all these things in her heart”, and I pray during this new year we do our best to trust in God’s divine plan and walk in the steps of Mary’s Fiat. May we say Yes to God wherever He leads us. God bless and keep you always.

Until next time,

Anjelina

Leave a Reply

