Mass Reflection: Being The Light of the World

Hello there, welcome to the Fifth Sunday in Ordinary time.

While many are watching the Super Bowl, I thought I would take time to attempt to make up for my lack of blog entries with some random reflections. This morning I was honored to be one of many who celebrated in a beautifully personalized Mass at the Cathedral for a friend from Theology on Tap who was received fully into the Church with the sacraments of Communion and Confirmation.

It has been refreshing to see a catechumen so on fire for her faith. Most of my friends who are Catholic are like me, cradle Catholics who at times take our faith for granted. I know I did not value my faith until I completely walked away from it and reverted with a deeper love and appreciation for the beauty, fullness and truth of Christ’s Church.

Here are

Today‘s Readings from the USCCB

Fr. Brommer’s homily focused on the Gospel which proclaimed,

“You are the salt of the earth.

But if salt loses its taste, with what can it be seasoned?

It is no longer good for anything

but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.

You are the light of the world.

A city set on a mountain cannot be hidden.

Nor do they light a lamp and then put it under a bushel basket; it is set on a lampstand,

where it gives light to all in the house.

Just so, your light must shine before others,

that they may see your good deeds

and glorify your heavenly Father.”

 

We were reminded as practicing Catholics, the Church impacts our relationships, helps shape our opinions and perspectives, but do we often stay in our comfortable familiar circles without venturing out to minister to those of different or no particular faiths?

The larger question is “who is the Church?” As the Catholic, meaning “universal” Church, it is all Christian believers whose purpose is to live our lives in such a way we bring god the glory.

While as a practicing Roman Catholic I may have theological differences with my fellow Christians of different denominations, I pray in our own personal ways we can reach out and be the salt and light to the world, because the Church is all believers, and as St. John said, “they will know us by the love We have for one another.” Recent life changes have reinforced the idea that I cannot cause conversion in someone’s heart, or steadfastly clinging to my narrow-minded life goals does not freely permit God to work in my life.

Being part of such a moving Mass for a beautiful friend who has joined the Church family has renewed my prayer that rather than attempt to single-handedly orchestrate my life, I ask for the Holy spirit to ascend upon us all so we can go out into our parts of the world and put into practice the “culture of encounter” as displayed by our Papa Francis.

This fitting song was our Communion hymn

I Want To Walk As A Child

 

May through modeling the examples of our heavenly Saints who have gone before us and reliance on the gifts of the Holy Spirit, I pray we carry out the Great Commission through our words and actions to all we meet no matter their faith journey, because God’s always up to some greater good that we may not see at the time.

Until next time,

Anjelina

Leave a Reply

