Social Work Month

“All life has inestimable value even the weakest and most vulnerable, the sick, the old, the unborn and the poor, are masterpieces of God’s creation, made in his own image, destined to live forever, and deserving of the utmost reverence and respect.” Pope Francis

Hi all,
Unfortunately, it has been some time since I last wrote, and if you wouldn’t mind please keep me in your thoughts and prayers. Based on medical happenings and the continued downward spiral the startling realization has hit me I need to fully invest somehow in eating disorder recovery before anorexia kills me. So that is where I am on that front. I have started and stopped writing the general outline of this post many times, but was unable to wrap it up into some type of sense.
The initial premise of this entry follows. If I were to tell you I am a social worker, what would be some of your thoughts or questions? Would you think, no one could pay me enough to do that type of work, or would your first question be do you remove kids from homes? For various reasons, recently I have struggled to write an entry. Whether it’s contending with confusing mood shifts or resorting to negative coping mechanisms which bring to light that I must make some type of tangible change before the eating disorder devours me alive, so this entry goes out to the social workers who have pissed me off enough into action during stretches in treatment, pushed me out of my comfort zone, led and mentored me professionally and personally as well as all who advocate for the rights of the oppressed, misunderstood and marginalized.
On both professional and personal fronts, the broad scope of social work has shaped my beliefs, enhanced my awareness of disparities in our society, offered opposing perspectives to previously held positions, proactively challenged my Catholic faith, and most importantly provided me a network of colleagues and friends of whom I can dialogue candidly about tough issues and ponder questions such as end of life issues, suicide, domestic violence, drug abuse, resiliency, theoretical perspectives, religion, depression, recovery, mental health and overall wellness.
I am so thankful Social Work month is always in March because this is when I seem to bounce from depression to feeling better or better than I should. Nonetheless, I am grateful for the opportunity to celebrate the work and tireless efforts of a profession I am blessed to work in daily.
Today a friend sent me this song which embodies what I believe social work strives to achieve: love, peace, acceptance, forgiveness, celebrating everyone’s unique gifts and talents.

 

May we always remember authentic love wins.

“When someone’s all alone and standing on the edge
Somebody reaches out and pulls ’em in
Love wins
When someone’s running out of places they can run
Ashamed of their mistakes and things they’ve done
When someone opens up a door with open arms says come on in
Love wins
Love is patient, love is kind
Love don’t care who’s wrong or right
Doesn’t envy, doesn’t boast, it doesn’t quit
It’s not selfish, it’s not proud
Love’s the noise above the loud
It never fails, it forgets and it forgives
Love wins
When a husband leaves the house and slams the door
Hears her say that she don’t love him anymore
But after twenty years together they thank God they tried again
Love wins
Love is patient, love is kind
Love don’t care who’s wrong or right
It doesn’t envy, it doesn’t boast, it doesn’t quit
It’s not selfish, it’s not proud
Love’s the noise above the loud
It never fails, it forgets and it forgives
Love wins
When we don’t have to teach our kids
That beauty’s deeper than the skin
And peace on earth is more than just a wish
When we let each other pray
In our own different ways
We’ll bow our heads and open up our fists
Love wins
Love wins
Love is patient, love is kind
Love don’t care who’s wrong or right
Doesn’t envy, doesn’t boast, it never quits
It’s not selfish, it’s not proud
Love’s the noise above the loud
It never fails, it forgets and it forgives
Love wins
Love wins.”
Until next time,
Anjelina

Leave a Reply

