Lessons of Love and Friendship

“A friend who is far away is sometimes much nearer than one who is at hand” Kahlil Gibran

Though I tend to sabotage anything positive that comes into my life or find it easier to believe I deserve heartache and pain or wallow at times in my own self-imposed pity, God has used a dear friend to teach me some of the most meaningful lessons about acceptance, authenticity, displaying my vulnerabilities and the reality that risks at growth and happiness are worth taking. This dear friend, with his heart of gentleness and kindness has taught me value life lessons. Whether for a reason, season or prayerfully forever on this side of heaven, I will be always thankful God has allowed our paths to cross.
As this gentle cleansing rain falls and the thunder rumbles outside my window, here are some of the tidbits he has taught me:
•On my worse days, I am worthy of love and acceptance.
•My past, with its mistakes, missteps and meanderings does not have to always equate to my present or future.
•Signs of difficulty, opposition or disagreements do not have to automatically be catastrophized as an ominous sign of impending implosion.
•Authentic love asks nothing in return. It does not care about social circles, job titles, financial status, what’s in it for them or what we must offer, rather it’s pure without pretenses or unrealistic expectations.
•Friendship is realizing each one of us is created in the image of God, and how we treat each other is how we treat Christ.
•Love cultivates sincere promises, words of affirmation, support, constructive criticism for growth toward heaven and further human development.
•Even if it is not meant to last, love and friendship expands beyond the moment and ultimately wants what is best for one another despite the heartache and pain.
•Friendship is about trust, feeling safe, being heard and respected.
•Friendship is about apologizing for mistakes, asking for forgiveness and moving past what has been forgiven without bringing up what has been buried.

“Because everything of value that we will know in this life comes from our relationships with those around us. Because there is nothing material that measures against the intangibles of love and friendship.”
R.A. Salvatore
Until next time,
Anjelina

Leave a Reply

